What To Do With Your Old North Carolina License Plate
In North Carolina there is only one option when getting rid of license plates, you must surrender and return them to the DMV.
Whether you are getting rid of your old car in North Carolina or just transferring ownership, you will need to surrender and return your plates to the DMV within 1 month to avoid penalties.
1.) Surrender Your Plates With The North Carolina DMV
In the state of North Carolina you'll need to surrender AND return your plates accordingly:
- Make your North Carolina plates unusable by bending them, removing and destroying the stickers.
- Surrender them in person to your local NC DMV office.
- Surrender them by mail to the DMV at: 3148 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27697-3148
Donate Your Old Car In North Carolina
Donate your old car in North Carolina to Wheels For Wishes, benefiting Make-A-Wish kids from Charlotte to Asheville:
- Go to our online car donation form or give us a call at 1-855-278-9474 to start your car donation.
- Within 24 hours of the next business day, we'll give you a call to set up your free towing.
- Wait for your tax deductible receipt in the mail.
Helping Make-A-Wish children is as easy as the click of a button!
If you have a North Carolina title problem we can help almost anyone get a new title.
Choose A Different State
Here's how you can get rid of license plates in a different state:
Alabama : Alaska : Arizona : Arkansas : California : Colorado : Connecticut : Delaware : District of Columbia : Florida : Georgia : Hawaii : Idaho : Illinois : Indiana : Iowa : Kansas : Kentucky : Louisiana : Maine : Maryland : Massachusetts : Michigan : Minnesota : Mississippi : Missouri : Montana : Nebraska : Nevada : New Hampshire : New Jersey : New Mexico : New York : North Carolina : North Dakota : Ohio : Oklahoma : Oregon : Pennsylvania : Rhode Island : South Carolina : South Dakota : Tennessee : Texas : Utah : Vermont : Virginia : Washington : West Virginia : Wisconsin : Wyoming : Washington D.C.